Ultimate Bass ULTIMATE BASS | BASS FISHING CLASSIFIED ADS | CONTACT US    

Bass Fishing information about bass boats, tackle, fishing rods, baitcasters and other reels all about bass fishing.
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Thank you! Sorry about the wait...

Page Down
FREE TACKLE EVERY WEEK

Bass Anglers Magazine - The Best bass fishing magazine on the rack! Subscribe Today and Catch More Bass

NuTech Lures

Doc Irv Custom Baits

Life Vantage

Get Bit Outdoors

X Zone Lures

Lockett Lures Outlet

K9 Fishing Line

Bass Anglers Magazine - The Best bass fishing magazine on the rack! Subscribe Today and Catch More Bass



Bass Boats For Sale Free Classified Ads

Laurie Cork
Ph. (318)347-7380
You can Email Me Here

Mike Cork
Ph. (318)560-9827

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: HDS Time issue  (Read 3379 times)

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
HDS Time issue
« on: October 23, 2018, 03:40:43 PM »

I have two HDS 9 Gen 2's all the sudden today both stopped displaying time. I just get three dashes. All other functions are fine. I've tried all I can think of. I've even deleted the overlay and put it back. Nothing. I've went back in and verified the networking and all is correct.

Thoughts?
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

Wizard

  • Charter Member
  • *****
  • Location: St. Louis/ Lake of the Ozarks
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,869
  • Deep water angler on highland lakes
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2018, 03:52:18 PM »

Sounds dumb but did you try to reset the clock?

Wizard
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2018, 03:57:27 PM »

I reset the whole unit, not sure how to reset the clock. But after a hard reset it still fails.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

WTodd

  • Largemouth
  • ***
  • Location: Riverview, FL
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 997
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2018, 04:10:40 PM »

There should be a way to set the clock; my Elite units have that capability


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2018, 04:27:32 PM »

I'm very familiar with how to set the clock on the Lowrance units. In fact, I can change it to UTC time and it will show up in my overlay but that's 7 hours off of my current time. I tried setting it to UTC and then going and adjusting my offset but it doesn't affect UTC time.

The overlay is there, the time is set but it just won't show it. What really throws me for a loop is that both of them have the problem at the exact same time.

I've now gone as far as reset to factory settings and performed the latest update which was five years old and only affected things like autopilot. Still three dashes and no time. It's like the satellite that is supposed to give it the time isn't there.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

WTodd

  • Largemouth
  • ***
  • Location: Riverview, FL
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 997
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2018, 04:29:11 PM »

I guess you’ll have to contact the manufacturer


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2018, 04:57:47 PM »

Yeah I guess so. I can see all the satellites connected but it shows a UTC time and a year of 2099. I don't get it. For years nothing and then BAM something like this  ~b~

It still bugs me that it's something simple, two units don't end up with the same problem at the same time and it not be some setting I inadvertently screwed up.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

WTodd

  • Largemouth
  • ***
  • Location: Riverview, FL
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 997
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2018, 05:05:25 PM »

Agree that both doing it at the same is high on the weird meter but since they’re wired together shouldn’t it happen like that?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

fishin couillon

  • Largemouth
  • ***
  • Location: Pineville, La
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 986
  • Who me?????
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2018, 07:22:23 PM »

Did you lose your GPS reception???  Time comes from the GPS.....when you lost the time did you look at your satellite page??

Just an FYI, another fishing board i'm on has a bunch of guys with the same issue, most seem to be on the Gen 2 units.....dont think its anything with the unit but more of a gps satellite in the sky.....someone mentioned that they called Lowrance and they said the government is working on satellite(s) and wouldnt be till end of Oct.  beginning of Nov. before units will display time.....

Take it for what's its worth but i also dont think all these time issues would self destruct at the same time either so it sounds legit that the satellites above our heads are getting worked on or having issues.....
« Last Edit: October 23, 2018, 07:35:32 PM by fishin couillon »
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2018, 08:03:20 PM »

I checked the satellites and it shows all them there, one bounces in and out. Interesting that I'm not the only one having an issue. I'll have to get some Lowrance guys local to me to check their units.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2018, 08:04:11 PM »

BTW thank you everyone for your inputs.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2018, 11:40:42 AM »

After some more research, I'm not the only one. The word that Lowrance is putting out is that it's the Air Force's fault. I have a buddy that "could" know and he could not confirm nor deny ~b~

But he did say that GPS is very good and with drones being able to land in a specific square inch, "wouldn't it be a good idea to have the ability to screw with GPS to thwart a terrorist cell, a foreign country, or a rouge American pissed off at the government."

So maybe Lowrance is correct, the Air Force is playing with things. Now the only issue is, it appears to be older HDS units that are having a problem. So will Lowrance have to provide an update or will it all go back to normal after the "Air Force" is complete? I did read where a guy was having trouble with the Point 1 as well so it might be more than just the HDS.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

Burbarry

  • Smallmouth
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 129
  • Baby Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2018, 12:35:14 PM »

I think I set the time of mine on the SD card when making a few changes. I had to change the time zone as the guy I got the boat from lived in Florida. But I’m still learning these my self so could be something else.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Burbarry

  • Smallmouth
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 129
  • Baby Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2018, 12:36:23 PM »

Also these are gen3 models so might be different and not effected by the issues of gen 2.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2018, 01:56:56 PM »

I just happen to run into another guy that used to be "in the know" he said long story short. If an adversary took out our satellites our current fighting force would be lost because they've relied on it for so long. So there are some self-induced problems being played with. These will affect a variety of equipment and different technology ages. Military issues are not supposed to cross over to the civilian world but sometimes they do...

I'm sure if I keep digging I can come up with a lot more conspiracy theories. Two is enough for now, both make sense  :surrender:
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

coldfront

  • Ultimate Basser
  • *****
  • Location: Chattanooga, TN
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,792
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2018, 09:18:22 AM »

Yeah I guess so. I can see all the satellites connected but it shows a UTC time and a year of 2099. I don't get it. For years nothing and then BAM something like this  ~b~

It still bugs me that it's something simple, two units don't end up with the same problem at the same time and it not be some setting I inadvertently screwed up.

Mike, ran across that yesterday too.  last weekend all was fine.  yesterday the console unit stopped displaying time.  the bow unit was still fine.

was going to just run the latest update (v6.0) and see how it goes.

interesting.

two HDS 7 gen2 touch units.  the bow unit works off the internal 'receiver'.  I have the console unit tied to the 'puck'.  only difference i can see.


Oh, and drawing conclusions (conspiracy):  lately my phone GPS (google maps) has really been acting up.  intermittent, no signal.  hmmm.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2018, 09:21:51 AM by coldfront »
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2018, 11:02:46 AM »

Both of mine are still in-op as of this weekend. I'm going to give it until the first week of November like Lowrance asked but then I will expect them to build a patch and fix it. I've done some research, there are a ton of folks having problems, it's definitely not isolated. If you have a Gen 2 Touch you're almost guaranteed to have a problem. Once we all start complaining an update will show up.  ~rant

I'm starting to think the real conspiracy is that Lowrance is trying to buy time so they can build the fix for a change in the satellite's software.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

coldfront

  • Ultimate Basser
  • *****
  • Location: Chattanooga, TN
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,792
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2018, 11:45:28 AM »

MIke,
you know I'm a really die-hard Lowrance guy.  I'll stay the course until I decide I need/want upgrades, then I'm switching to Johnson, Humminbird.

I prefer the lowrance units, technology.  I just chafe over how the customer service/focus has changed from way back when they used to reside in Tulsa.

ths doesn't help.
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2018, 01:44:24 PM »

I'm with you, I've fished Lowrance since paper graphs. I've always love the units and the service but as you said the service has changed.

I cracked the screen on one of my HDS 9's a while back. Being a touch screen it's useless with a crack. I called Lowrance and it was just out of warranty. Not that warranty mattered as it was my fault and I was prepared to pay for it.

While they have plenty of screens to fix it with, they won't. The tech said since it's out of warranty they won't fix it. I repeated that it wasn't a warranty issue and I just wanted to send it to them to fix. He repeated, it's too old, buy a new one.

Don't want to turn this into a bash thread. We'll see if the Air Force turns things back on or not.  ::)
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

Smallie_Stalker

  • Charter Member
  • *****
  • Location: Quincy, Massachusetts
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 17,560
  • Good things come to those who bait !!!
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #19 on: October 29, 2018, 02:34:22 PM »

Mike, ran across that yesterday too.  last weekend all was fine.  yesterday the console unit stopped displaying time.  the bow unit was still fine.

was going to just run the latest update (v6.0) and see how it goes.

interesting.

two HDS 7 gen2 touch units.  the bow unit works off the internal 'receiver'.  I have the console unit tied to the 'puck'.  only difference i can see.


Oh, and drawing conclusions (conspiracy):  lately my phone GPS (google maps) has really been acting up.  intermittent, no signal.  hmmm.
Sorry no intention to hijack the thread but no conspiracy on the Google Maps. When my truck broke down at the beginning of the month I called roadside assistance and they said they had my location from the gps in my phone and could see it on Google Maps. Said they'd be there in 30 - 45 minutes. About 45 minutes later I got a call from the driver asking me to verify the street name and address. When I told him he said he was on the right street but the numbers didn't go up that high. I verified the address again and this time I mentioned the city (Quincy). He said I'm in Newton - about 20 miles away!!! When I asked him why he said according to dispatch that's what the gps on Google Maps read from my phone. When I looked at my phone settings the gps was correct but when I opened Google Maps sure enough it had me in the wrong city.

I've had the problem off and on since then.  Maybe problems with the satellites themselves?

IDK but I just thought I'd let you know you weren't the only one with the Google issue either.

Sent from my LG-H932 (LG V30 Plus) using Tapatalk

Logged
Supporting Companies: Abu Garcia  Berkley  Pflueger  Fenwick  Shakespeare  Spiderwire

Bassinkorea

  • UB Nightshift
  • CM Chief Community Diplomat
  • *****
  • Location: South Korea
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 28,158
  • UB for life - UB Life Member
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2018, 07:18:01 PM »

If you have a Gen 2 Touch you're almost guaranteed to have a problem. Once we all start complaining an update will show up.  ~rant

I have two Gen 2 touch units (9 & 12). I should be on the water this weekend, so I will look and see if we are also affected on this side of the globe.
Logged

oldjim

  • Ultimate Basser
  • *****
  • Location: Shreveport ,La.
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1,625
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2018, 07:21:42 PM »

Went out and cheked my Hellix 9, no problems. Gps ok time ok
oldjim
Logged

coldfront

  • Ultimate Basser
  • *****
  • Location: Chattanooga, TN
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,792
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #22 on: October 29, 2018, 07:31:57 PM »

I have two Gen 2 touch units (9 & 12). I should be on the water this weekend, so I will look and see if we are also affected on this side of the globe.

think it all works except the time function.  I was doing some mapping.  GPS looks just fine.
Logged

coldfront

  • Ultimate Basser
  • *****
  • Location: Chattanooga, TN
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 10,792
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #23 on: November 08, 2018, 10:36:58 AM »

any updates on time issue?  neither of my gen2 touches are 'right'.

just talked to Lowrance Tech Support/Customer.  no timelines for fix. 

what I'm wondering:  Garmin, Johnson (US companies) don't see to have issue.  is there possibly something with foreign ownership of Lowrance at play? 
« Last Edit: November 08, 2018, 10:42:05 AM by coldfront »
Logged

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 68,662
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: HDS Time issue
« Reply #24 on: November 08, 2018, 10:59:06 AM »

A very interesting thought and with our current administration pissing on folks...

Mine still don't work.

Lowrance users as a whole are not seeing the problem. Apparently it's only with the HDS units and only older HDS units at that.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 


Monster Fishing Tactle is the best place to buy your tackle needs Check them out online

When Bass Fishing Is More than Just a Hobby - Dobyns Rods




QUICK LINKS
UB Home
Main Forum
Welcome
Dock Talk
Techniques
Rods and Reels
Tackle Box
Catch of the Day
UB Contests
Tips and Ideas
Sponsor Connection
Fishing Reports
Charter Members Only
Bass Fishing Classified Ads
Boats 4 Sale

BECOME A
CHARTER MEMBER
SUPPORT UB




Find out about the contests before everyone else and know about the latest news first
 
Page Up

Page created in 0.223 seconds with 23 queries.