Ultimate Bass ULTIMATE BASS | BASS FISHING CLASSIFIED ADS | CONTACT US    

Bass Fishing information about bass boats, tackle, fishing rods, baitcasters and other reels all about bass fishing.
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Thank you! Sorry about the wait...

Page Down
Nines Optics

Bass Anglers Magazine - The Best bass fishing magazine on the rack! Subscribe Today and Catch More Bass

NuTech Lures

X Zone Lures

Lockett Lures Outlet

K9 Fishing Line

Life Vantage

Get Bit Outdoors



Bass Anglers Magazine - The Best bass fishing magazine on the rack! Subscribe Today and Catch More Bass

Bass Boats For Sale Free Classified Ads

Laurie Cork
Ph. (318)347-7380
You can Email Me Here

Mike Cork
Ph. (318)560-9827

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Want To Baseline Windows 10  (Read 1800 times)

Pferox

  • Life Member
  • *****
  • Location: Baytown, TX
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15,975
  • Right on the Gulf Coast.
Want To Baseline Windows 10
« on: October 20, 2015, 09:48:22 AM »

I'm getting a new laptop, and the old Lenovo is still working pretty good.  We have a friend who needs an updated machine, (still using XP and it won't take any upgrade OS) so I thought I would delete all of my personal information on the laptop and give it to that person.

I don't have any of the secrete codes needed for a clean wipe and install, so am in a quandary how I can go about doing this without deleting the OS, doing a repartition and format and reinstalling the OS again.

I'm hoping someone has the secret commands to baseline this thing again.
Logged
"If you think you are too small to be effective, you have never been in bed with a mosquito" - African Proverb.  Jim

Mike Cork

  • Father Time
  • Admin
  • *****
  • Location: NW Louisiana
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 70,997
  • Get the Net it's a Hawg
    • Ultimate Bass
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 11:54:51 AM »

Over my head... Princeton_man probably has something that will work.
Logged
Fishing is more than just a hobby

Dobyns Rods - Monster Fishing Tackle
Cork's Reel Service

Pferox

  • Life Member
  • *****
  • Location: Baytown, TX
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15,975
  • Right on the Gulf Coast.
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2015, 01:35:15 PM »

Over my head... Princeton_man probably has something that will work.

I hope so, I used to get a lot of machines and would baseline them in a few different ways to donate to different people, but can't find those commands anywhere on the newer software.
Logged
"If you think you are too small to be effective, you have never been in bed with a mosquito" - African Proverb.  Jim

caddyjoe77

  • Let's Go Fishin!!
  • Life Member
  • *****
  • Location: ALadamnbama
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,257
  • Working too much, more fishing time needed!!
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2015, 02:21:21 PM »

I'm getting a new laptop, and the old Lenovo is still working pretty good.  We have a friend who needs an updated machine, (still using XP and it won't take any upgrade OS) so I thought I would delete all of my personal information on the laptop and give it to that person.

I don't have any of the secrete codes needed for a clean wipe and install, so am in a quandary how I can go about doing this without deleting the OS, doing a repartition and format and reinstalling the OS again.

I'm hoping someone has the secret commands to baseline this thing again.

To copy your data, you have a profile.  If it is windows XP it is located in C:\Documents and Settings\yourusername  (the account that you log in with).  In there you have folders like Desktop, favorites ..etc.  copy the data that you need to a flash drive or portable USB. 

for Windows 7, it is called C:\Users\yourusername  -- Desktop, favorites, my documents...etc. 

Once you are sure you have all your data, there are some free data shredding utilities out there.  Use those to remove your old data once you copy your data off.  I can look tonight because I cannot remember off the top of the cranium at the moment.  A format does not really clean the data, it merely breaks the link from the inode table on the disk.  All your old stuff is recoverable unless you actually "shred" it. 
Logged
BeerMe

Pferox

  • Life Member
  • *****
  • Location: Baytown, TX
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 15,975
  • Right on the Gulf Coast.
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2015, 07:38:48 PM »

When I partition a hard drive I use a government security program I acquired that cleans that thing like a whistle.  But I don't want to do that because I don't have a way to reload Windows 10 back on it then.
Logged
"If you think you are too small to be effective, you have never been in bed with a mosquito" - African Proverb.  Jim

Tavery5

  • Largemouth
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 752
  • Baby Bass
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2015, 09:06:51 PM »

Some computers have a bootable maintenance partition.  On this partition they have a utility that allows you to restore your computer back to the factory installation of  operating system and software.

Different systems require different keystrokes to boot to the maintenance partition, you may have to do a little on-line research and see if your system has this option.
Logged

caddyjoe77

  • Let's Go Fishin!!
  • Life Member
  • *****
  • Location: ALadamnbama
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,257
  • Working too much, more fishing time needed!!
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2015, 10:45:55 PM »

When I partition a hard drive I use a government security program I acquired that cleans that thing like a whistle.  But I don't want to do that because I don't have a way to reload Windows 10 back on it then.

correct.  I was talking about the free space, aka the slack space that happens once you delete files.  What I mean is, once you copy your profile data that you want and before you give the laptop to your friend. 

http://www.howtogeek.com/137108/how-securely-overwrite-free-space-in-windows/ 
Logged
BeerMe

Eric L.

  • Lunker
  • ****
  • Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1,245
Re: Want To Baseline Windows 10
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2016, 07:46:43 PM »

I've ran into this in a couple of different situations.  One was the hard drive STB and wouldn't even spin.   I still have my install disks for windows 7 from aways back, it was one of the 3 pack upgrade versions.  I put a new hd in and installed win7, but couldn't get it to accept the code to authenticate as a genuine version of windows, and basically was stuck after the initial trial period. 
I contacted MS and went through the phone tree and actually got a code to use from them after explaining the issue. 
I haven't tried this with win10 yet, and you have to have an authenticated version of win7 or better fully patched to do the free upgrade to win 10.  May be worth a try if you have an install disk?
Logged
Eric
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


Monster Fishing Tactle is the best place to buy your tackle needs Check them out online

When Bass Fishing Is More than Just a Hobby - Dobyns Rods




QUICK LINKS
UB Home
Main Forum
Welcome
Dock Talk
Techniques
Rods and Reels
Tackle Box
Catch of the Day
UB Contests
Tips and Ideas
Sponsor Connection
Fishing Reports
Charter Members Only
Bass Fishing Classified Ads
Boats 4 Sale

BECOME A
CHARTER MEMBER
SUPPORT UB




Find out about the contests before everyone else and know about the latest news first
 
Page Up

Page created in 0.152 seconds with 24 queries.