What about Stealth

Started by Bud Kennedy, October 30, 2017, 08:16:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bud Kennedy

Some things just want to make me shake my head.  We spend time working on presentations that ensure that we don't spook the bass with certain types of line or line color or other things like that.  If this was all that important then how do you explain the A-Rig that has enough metal in it to set off a metal detector and looks like a pop art wind chime.

Pferox

I'm no expert, but I think that in an A-rig there is so much action going on in a small area that the fish are distracted from the wires and rigging.

I personally think that in most situations normal noise isn't a major issue unless it is in shallow water, shadows and movement on the other hand seem to be more important.
"If you think you are too small to be effective, you have never been in bed with a mosquito" - African Proverb.  Jim

SFL BassHunter

I've thought about this as well, but I have to agree with Pferox on the A-Rig. Same goes for spinnerbaits.

PB: 6lbs 5oz / 24.25 inches.
Rods/Reels Dobyns, 13 Fishing, Cabelas Arachnid, Daiwa Tatula CT, Tatula SVTW, Tatula Tactical, Tatula Type R
Florida Bass Fishing

njpaulc

We assume a bass recognizes line and wire for what they are.  In some cases we are giving the bass too much credit.  If it sees something that looks tasty, it doesn't stop and say "Hey, that 6 inch strand of monel wire doesn't belong here"

LgMouthGambler

Quote from: njpaulc on October 30, 2017, 10:08:15 AM
We assume a bass recognizes line and wire for what they are.  In some cases we are giving the bass too much credit.  If it sees something that looks tasty, it doesn't stop and say "Hey, that 6 inch strand of monel wire doesn't belong here"

This.  ~roflmao
My wife says she is gonna leave me if I go fishing one more time........lord how I will miss that woman.

bigjim5589

^^^^^
Yep, what Paul said!  :)