Cleaning reels

Started by cojab, December 27, 2015, 11:34:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cojab

I got some Ardent reel oil and reel butter from Santa Clause this year so while the waters are frozen around here and I couldn't fish anyways, I thought I might as well clean my reels. I've never done this before but I figured with a couple of internet videos and a question or two here if I needed to, I could figure it out.

All in all, not a terrible job. I ran into a problem a couple of times that weren't to bad to figure out. First problem I ran into is when I pulled the side plate off the gear side of one of the reels. A bearing/bushing thing came off the shaft that I wasn't expecting. When I put the reel back together it would not retrieve.  The part had two distinct sides on it and I suspected by not being the correct side up, that it could cause this. So I pulled it back apart, flipped that bushing over, put it back together again and it worked! Good deal I thought.
The next problem was a little more entailed. I should have known better about this but I was using a Q-tip to clean the line guide worm gear bar while turning the reel. You guessed it, I sucked the tip of the Q-tip right into the guide and drive. Here's where it gets worse. I figured hey its just a little soft cotton. If I real past it, it should kind of clean itself out of there. Right? Nope! It actually just packed a lot more cotton than I thought came off that Q-tip into the worm drive. I tried getting the crap out of there by picking at it but quickly realized that it was going to have to come apart.
With more than a little nervousness, I tore that reel down again, pulled the line guide drive completely apart, and got it cleaned up. I got everything put back together and didn't even have any spare parts left over!
I had watched a very good video of that exact reel being cleaned so I felt that I should be able to handle it if I was careful and took my time.