Fishing FL first time.

Started by JDDogs, March 27, 2023, 08:57:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JDDogs

I am headed to fish (bass of course) in FL end of April.
Have a friend down there, who I worked with for many years, move down there some 20 yrs ago.  He's been bugging me to come down and fish with him and I finally said, what the heck and am going down.  My by line has always been that I spent most of my $$ on Huntin, Fishin, and retrievin dogs, the rest I just pretty much wasted.  :)
Looking for which baits might work down there, that time of year.   Of course we don't know what the water temps or water conditions will be, but we are going to go out and swing for the fences.
My friend says we will likely fish; Stickmarsh farm 13, Lake Harney and Lake Poisett.  Please excuse the spelling.  As a side note, is this area considered central FL?
Again, I have only been fishing here in Wa state for a few years and enjoying the challenge big time.  I am new to this and trying to learn.   
Spent most of my money on huntin, Fishin and retrievin dogs, the rest I just pretty much wasted.

Larry Francis

Personally, I would recommend 1, Chatterbait white with Gold blade and a Houdini Trailer. 2, Houdini Fluke weightless.  3, Poppin Frog white or Chartreuseand white. 4,Wacky Senco weightless in black and blue. 5, Punching rig with a 2 oz weight and a June Bug Beaver.

And a Gater for your head and face for the Hydrilla Knats. You will need this.
Molon Labe

Eric-Maine