I switched back to mono.

Started by Capt. BassinLou, January 29, 2023, 06:03:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Capt. BassinLou

I have been fishing with braid or braid to mono leaders for many years. But I grew up fishing with mono and fished mono for a very long time as well.

Very recently I made the switch back to 100% mono. However, this time around I made the switch for specifically one type of application. T-rig (Texas Rig) Why?

I have a very good friend mine, who fishes 100% mono for various applications. But he catches 2 times more bass than I do when he t-rigs, on a consistent basis. So of course that got me thinking.  ;D

I took it a step further and fished the bow with him, side by side for a couple of trips. He threw mono, I threw a braid to mono leader. Our set ups were the following: Weightless presentations, identical hooks, identical worms. Each trip, same result, he caught 2 times more bass. After those trips, my friend picked up on my mild frustration, :) and suggested I experiment fishing with 100% mono again.

So I listened. I went back to the drawing board. At first I was hesitant with the suggestion because I don't like several of mono's characteristics. The primary characteristic being how "springy" (line stretch) mono has when compared to braid or braid/mono leaders.  Braid has 0 stretch, which I enjoy. Mono, has a lot of stretch. Which I really don't like.

I have had to re-train myself through out this process, and I'm not going to lie, the transition has not been easy. I can happily report however, my t-rig catch rates have improved. But, unfortunately my landing percentages have dropped. Trust me, I know why. I'm not picking up enough slack to account for the mono's stretch, and as a result, my hooksets are weaker.