"Floating" Worm

Started by pdryan0225, October 01, 2009, 07:49:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pdryan0225

I'm fairly new to bass fishing, recently "converted" from a focus on walleye.

Belive it or not the season here in the north country (Wisconsin) will soon be winding down.   I still want to do some shakey head fishing this year.  Here is my question:

What is a good floating worm.  My understanding is the jig head essentially anchors the head and the worm will be floating almost vertical.  I can't find any worms that float.   Any recommendations on worms?

I'm loading up my tacklebox on some of the bass "standard" lures.   If I die, I hope my wife doesn't sell my gear for what I told her I paid for it  ~shhh

Thanks in advance - great website and great bunch of guys (and gals)

Pat

kevin dye

Zoom does make a shaky head worm it's about 6'' and tapered at the tail. It works great. I use the watermelon seed alot.
sponsors:
KaRu lures         Koppers lures
line and lure       Ike-con tackle
BTS                  Equatec tackle
rod wrap            Pro-Cure
Izorline

Bassinkorea

The Zoom trick worm floats and is a great shakey head worm. But I personally use a floater that I buy locally in Korea.
2020 IBASS Gold - Zone 2 - AOY
2020 IBASS Classic - Winner
2020 IBASS Team Tourney - Winner (with FD)

Baron49

Quote from: Bassinkorea on October 01, 2009, 08:42:13 AM
The Zoom trick worm floats and is a great shakey head worm. But I personally use a floater that I buy locally in Korea.

Zoom trick worms float?  :-\  I use them all the time with a 3/0 worm hook rigged texas or wacky style and they fall horizontally like a soft stick bait (Senko) with much the same action as they fall.  Are there different kinds of trick worms that do float?

The best floating worms I have used are Charlies Worms made in Florida.  When rigged on a jig head they work great for Shakey head fishing.

pdryan0225