Braided Line Review

Started by FlatsNBay, January 20, 2023, 05:18:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FlatsNBay

I've been a Power Pro user for probably over 20 years, with no complaints. Even though I never had a complaint, I wasn't really aware or even cared about other braided lines. I kind of equate my love for Power Pro to this scenario: Many people are happy with their minivan with zero complaints. When they have the opportunity to drive a sports car, let's say a corvette, the ride and handling is that much sweeter and an obvious edge in performance in feel and ride is experienced. Power Pro has been my minivan and some of the newer braids have been my corvette!! LOL

A few years ago, I won a spool of Tufline Supercast braid and decided to give it a try and was blown away at the subtleness, castability and strength of the line on spinning gear. I tried other braided lines in the Tufline lineup and was very pleased with them (Domin8, XP, and Force). I was very happy with Tufline and then Mustad bought them out. The price went up and the quality went down.

I went back to Power Pro to see what I was missing. It was like driving a minivan again. I had no complaint other than it didn't handle and perform as well as what I experienced with Tufline. I set out to try some other braids. One requirement that I had was affordability. Some of the high-end expensive braids are I'm sure excellent but were out of my price range.