Fly reel/rod??

Started by imp81318, November 05, 2007, 08:07:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

imp81318

I have been thinking about getting into fly fishing, and my dad just gave me an old fly reel/rod setup he found... Doe anyone know anything about older fly reels and rods to know if it might be worth cleaning up as a learner setup??  Like I said, I've never used one before and know absolutely NOTHING about them. I can get some pics tonight if it is worth it but I figured I'd check here while I was thinking about it first...

Creel Limit Zero

Sure would be worth trying it out before investing in something good.  The reel is not as important as a decent rod and fly line to learn on.  Pics would be cool, just would like to see how old they are....

imp81318

Ok, I'll take some pics tonight and get some info off the rod/reel. I know the reel looks rusty, but dad said he had pulled some line out and it seemed to work alright...

Bassinkorea

I fly fished for about 15 years when I was back in the UK. If it is an old cane fly rod and in good condition, then it may be worth some money  :-*

These older fly rods are still used by many folks in the UK but I think the newer (modern) rods are much easier to use.....but everybody is different. Give it a go imp  :)

As CLZ said, the reel is not all that important unless you are going after some BIG fish. Generally you will only need to "hand" the line to land normal sized fish, but if a big fish gets on the end of the line then you'll need to use the reel.

PLEASE SHOW US SOME PHOTOS........I'd like to see what you have  ;PHO) ;PHO)
2020 IBASS Gold - Zone 2 - AOY
2020 IBASS Classic - Winner
2020 IBASS Team Tourney - Winner (with FD)

imp81318