cheap froggin and punchin rod/reel combo

Started by BubbaDbassin, August 09, 2017, 10:03:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BubbaDbassin

Since I am a fulltime student, money is tough and am looking for a cheap yet effective froggin rod for my topwater obsessions. Any suggestions?

cport

Around here, you need to define cheap lol. Set your price range, there are so many knowledgeable anglers here you will get plenty of responses.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

11lb 2 oz PB 🎣

BubbaDbassin

West6550

For a frog all you really need is a good back bone. I don't know of any for both at that price. But if you have an extra reel. Get a 7'6" Abu Veritas MH online. It will work for both and are about $75 several places.

If you don't have the money. Save for a few more weeks then get one.

I say this from experience of buying cheap then just buying something else when it broke.

fishandkamp

I think you will need to look used to make that happen.

LgMouthGambler

Whatever you do with the reel, make sure it has a metal frame to hold up to the high stress a frog setup will go through. West has a good point on the Veritas rod. For the money it's hard to beat.

<")))>{

My wife says she is gonna leave me if I go fishing one more time........lord how I will miss that woman.

cport

Quote from: LgMouthGambler on August 10, 2017, 04:50:17 AM
Whatever you do with the reel, make sure it has a metal frame to hold up to the high stress a frog setup will go through. West has a good point on the Veritas rod. For the money it's hard to beat.

<")))>{
Another Abu endorsement?  Seriously, did the aliens probe you?

11lb 2 oz PB 🎣

LgMouthGambler

Quote from: cport on August 10, 2017, 06:39:57 AM
Another Abu endorsement?  Seriously, did the aliens probe you?

I get crap for being brand racist. I get crap for being brand equal opportunity. I feel like Im a politician now.  ~roflmao