Thoughts on Baitcaster's Brake system

Started by greenpig, September 23, 2023, 10:27:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

greenpig

hi,forum
how about Baitcaster's brakes go 'free spooling' after certain numbers of its rotations?
if user manually set the numbers of spool rotation for brake. after that it becomes
'free spooling = Totally No brakes!'
so user can control applied brakes by setting numbers of spool's rotation.
this feature will be benefit for long cast. since after initial brake work,
after that no longer brake applied.

for example,if user set to brake rotation to number '15' on brake setting dial
after spool rotate 15 times, no more brake works from that point.

thanks for check.

FlatsNBay

Just curious, why would you want no brakes during the end of a cast? Isn't that when brakes are needed the most to slow the spool down to help prevent a backlash? I think that's the intention but I'm far from a reel expert.

Princeton_Man

I wouldn't like it. How would you calculate the number of rotations in relation to distance? Why would you want that anyway?
Stratos 285 XL Pro 150 Evinrude ETEC

Dobyns Rods - LSCR Club

Smallie_Stalker

It would still require an educated thumb. Maybe even more so than what modern reels require.

I wouldn't be a fan. Too many unknowns to try and compensate for. Keeping things as simple as possible is always the best solution IMO, and as the saying goes "if it ain't broke don't fix it.

For the record, centrifugal brakes control the spool at the beginning of the cast and magnetic braking works at the end of the cast to help slow the spool and prevent backlash.

While I personally prefer centrifugal braking and the use of the thumb, dual braking reels offer more fine tuned control.