Important read : stick marsh and

Started by MCS, September 06, 2014, 08:18:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MCS

I am reposting see below

My name is Dustin Everitt and I am a Fisheries Biologist with the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) at the Ocala Regional Office.  Despite working out of Ocala, I am the lead fisheries management biologist for water bodies in the St. Johns River basin, and I have a lot of experience working on Stick Marsh, Kenansville, Garcia, Three Forks and Fellsmere Reservoirs.  I know these resources well, and it is my goal to manage these fisheries effectively for the benefit of our state's freshwater anglers.

Some of you may already be aware, but the Division of Freshwater Fisheries Management is working towards revamping the current statewide largemouth bass regulation to bring uniformity across the state and address outdated scientific issues with the existing regulation.  Currently, within our region, the daily statewide harvest regulation for largemouth bass is a 5 fish bag limit, with a minimum size of 14" and only one fish over 22".  The new statewide regulation will keep the existing daily 5 fish bag limit, but only allow the harvest of fish less than 16" except for one fish that can be 16" long or longer.  As you will notice, the new regulation helps protect the desirable larger bass over 16", but it also provides an opportunity for someone to catch and keep smaller bass (which are most often males and slow-growing females that will never reach trophy size), and one larger bass if they so desire.  If this proposed regulation is approved, it would become effective July 1, 2016 at the earliest.