Bass Fishing Forum Bass Fishing Forum

Site Slogan

News: NEW FORUM! Yes, this is UB! Feedback HERE!

MN jig fishing

(Read 2805 times)

BECOME A CHARTER MEMBER SUPPORT UB

baileyjs

• Smallmouth
  • Baby Bass
I'm pretty new to bass fishing and totally new to jig fishing. I've fished mostly weightless texas rigged worms (with good success) and played with a few other type baits.  This year I want to start tapping into jig fishing. I played with a baitcaster last year and I'm pretty set on a Daiwa tatula 6.3:1. From all my research a 7' mhmf rod seems to be the way to go....any thoughts yes or no on the rod selection?

Also I'm wondering for MN bass what size jigs are you typically throwing 1/4-1/2oz ?

Any tips/recommendations would be appreciated.

thanks!

Dark3

• Charter Member
I would say no on the rod selection , if MF stands for moderate fast. A MH-F should suit you well however I am unfamiliar with diawa rods except my kids samurais lol

analfisherman

• Ultimate Basser
  • HOOKS, LIES AND ALIBIES
I agree with Dark!

Two things that tend to discourage new jiggers is, hook setting or spit outs and snags.

I highly recomend you start with NuJigs because Bo knows jig fishing better than anyone and his jigs eliminate both of the above concerns.
They are a Sponsor here (left side, 3rd from top) and Bo WILL answer any and all questions or concerns for you PLUS he has a TON of YouTube videos out.

I would start with 1/4oz. moving up to 3/8ths because these two weights you get the best 'feel' of the lure and will help you learn the nuiances of hitting rocks, limbs, sand, mud and structure easier.....and fish.  :)
Last but not least, everytime you feel ANY change in your jig...SET THE HOOK!!!
Later on you can be more finicky maybe but often times a bass will grab and swim as opposed to hammering it. Especially when flipping and pitching.
Don't get me wrong, they definitly will hammer a jig too!  lo

Grew up in LaCrosse so I've fished many a Mn. water body.