Another "newbie"

Started by podcast, May 10, 2015, 11:28:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

podcast

Hey y'all. Obviously just joined. Been fishin most of my life, not regularly but consistent enough. My ole man is an addict both for ice and boat fishin. I've taken many Canada trips and more with him. Lots of fun but I typically am having huntin instead. My son however likes to fish and since he's not interested in huntin I'd figure is an least get home goin on this.

I'm mainly here to learn about the newer electronics. I just purchased a Helix 5 SI and went out yesterday. I want to be able to tweak this finder to better use particularly the SI feature and be able to identify fish accurately. Knowing myself as I do I'll likely be gettin another one for the bow of the boat or one similar so the more I know the better off I am.

I'm a dog trainer/bird(ducks and pheasant) hunter as well as an archery deer hunter. I compete at state levels mainly in 3D tournaments but have recently been involved in a few 5 spot tourneys as well. We have a world champion archer at my club so I take advantage of this and have enjoyed it.

I have, for up north, a unique fishin rig. A 17' 6" Mike Kleibert custom hull with a stage 2 23hp GTR. On the bow I use a 65# PDV2. I use this mainly for duck huntin and I hunt the marsh for deer as well but it's nice exploring different lakes and going full out not having to worry bout the motor hitting a stump or log.

I do have fairly good knowledge particularly for panfish but I'd like to learn more bout bass.

Pacific NW Ron