Shimano DC ?

Started by FD, February 16, 2020, 04:16:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FD

Being an Abu fan, I have no experience with these, but my buddy can't stop talking about them.

The plan is to ramp up my Guide business as I approach retirement and part of the marketing is to provide higher end equipment to use during the day trips. Money is not the primary concern but the overall "guest experience" is.

Are they as nest proof as the advertising?

How durable are they?

And how much maintenance do they require?

The online reviews are all over the place so I came to the source for honest input.

If you don't have pieces leftover, you didn't put it back together right...
Arti-FISH-ial Entertainment Guide Service
FDx Custom Rods                                   SwampCat Boat Works

zippyduck

The SLX DC is an awesome reel for the money. Not bullet proof but about as backlash free as I've seen.
3rd place 2017 UB IBASS 377.75"
AOY 2018 IBASS Cool Casters  369.00"
AOY 2019 IBASS Cool Casters  362.50"

loomisguy

I have 2 of the Curado DC's and they are a nice reel. I would tell you that you have to use a bit more spool tension than you might think and they still can backlash unless you set the DC on 4 and that will cause a loss of distance but into the wind ,especially throwing something that can wind plane like a buzzbait they work well but  I still use my thumb out of 40 years of built up habit.
Overall I think they cast great going down the bank with a spinnerbait or small squarebill and that probably equals more casts in a days time. Distance wise I do believe they would out toss my Curado k
by a little.
I've read about people fighting them too but some folks have trouble figuring out a wheelbarrow so take that with a grain of salt.
I haven't done any maintenence to mine at all and as far as quality I would say it's typical Shimano some of the best.

Capt. BassinLou