Why is it so awkward for me to use the TM foot pedal

Started by lacofdfireman, March 13, 2021, 10:20:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lacofdfireman

So I'm new to Bass Fishimg this year.  Bought me a cheap $9k 2012 Bass Tracker.  The boat came with a 24v 80lb Minn Kota Ulterra auto deploy auto stow TM.  The TM seems to work fantastic but I feel so awkward using the foot pedal.  I feel like my balance is off and I'm gonna fall out of the boat half the time.  For that reason I use the remote almost all the time. But doing that typically means your hands aren't on your fishing pole or the reel where they should be while fishing.   The foot pedal is just on top of the deck.  Not recessed like I see many others but not sure if that even matters or not. 

Is this just a time thing and with more experience I'll get the hang or is the Ulterra foot pedal just a weird design. 

Also just bought a butt seat with an extendable pole.  I'm 6'5 and the chair that was upfront hit me in the back of the knees.  Hoping the nut seat up higher will be an improvement and maybe allow me to lean on it a little for balance. 

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Bud Kennedy

The trolling motor pedal will become second nature to you and a short while.  Since your pedal is mounted on the deck and not in a recessed tray, I can understand your issue fully.

If you change your seat pedestal for a power pedestal I think you will find a more comfortable adjustment that will fit your needs.  I am a short person so I don't have the issues you tall people face.  A combination of recessed tray for the trolling motor pedal and a power pedestal should help both issues significantly.

coldfront

GymShoe

Quote from: lacofdfireman on March 13, 2021, 10:20:28 AM