New Prop is installed

Started by Bud Kennedy, April 05, 2021, 12:08:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bud Kennedy

Brought the Ranger home from storage and put her on the charger and then installed the new Solas 4 blade.  Hoping to take the boat out tomorrow and test everything out.

Donald Garner

Don't remember you saying why you changed from a 3 bladed prop to a 4 bladed one?
Belton Texas part of God's Country
Stratos 285 Pro XL Yamaha 150 VMax; Lowrance Hook 7 Electronics; Minn Kota Foretrex Trolling Motor

G3 1548 Alwed Jon boat Yamaha 25hp outboard 

Bud Kennedy

Donald, I have been running a 4 blade prop for the past 12 years or so.  Just downsized the pitch a bit.  Old prop is a 27 and the new  prop is a 25.  Math indicates a 24.5 would be perfect but  Solas only offers a 23 or 25 in this line of prop.  It should get me an additional 400 rpms if everything works out by the numbers.

Donald Garner

I hope the change is an improvement that you're looking for.  I took it for granite that you ran a 3 bladed prop on that Johnson.  Most of the guys I see around here run 3 bladed props on their rigs.  Every now and then I see a 4 bladed one.
Stratos 285 Pro XL Yamaha 150 VMax; Lowrance Hook 7 Electronics; Minn Kota Foretrex Trolling Motor

Bassinkorea

That shiny new prop certainly looks the part, I hope you get what you are looking for with it. Let us know  ~read
2020 IBASS Gold - Zone 2 - AOY
2020 IBASS Classic - Winner
2020 IBASS Team Tourney - Winner (with FD)

Princeton_Man

Quote from: Bud Kennedy on April 05, 2021, 07:31:14 PM
Donald, I have been running a 4 blade prop for the past 12 years or so.  Just downsized the pitch a bit.  Old prop is a 27 and the new  prop is a 25.  Math indicates a 24.5 would be perfect but  Solas only offers a 23 or 25 in this line of prop.  It should get me an additional 400 rpms if everything works out by the numbers.