Baitcast or Spinning?

Started by Rickoos, March 22, 2005, 10:24:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RRogue

I use mostly baitcasters,but I pitch with a spinning reel.It just makes things a lot easier.

LochRaven05

i think it all depends on the type of fishing your doing. for lighter lures its normally easier to use a spinning reel so you can cast farther. with heavier to medium weight lures a baitcast reel gives you more control and accuracy. it really comes down to personal preference though.

rededison127

when i first started getting serious about bass fishing, i only used baitcasters. im fairly new to using artificial bait, so this season i have been practicing my finesse fishing with spinning tackle. Today i caught a nice 3 pounder at North Park Lake here in PA on a bitsy bug finesse jig with a small yum crawbug. I always read that when the water becomes colder, the bass will strike more on a smaller bait, and that is why i chose to get into finesse fishing. now im HOOKED.

Creel Limit Zero

I started using baitcasting a lot more this year, and now I have no idea how I wasn't using it more.  Everything about baitcasters to me is better, except skipping and really light lures. 

topcat

I am a fan of the baitcaster....I have been baitcasting for at least 20 years...its just like driving a standard car or truck.....I would rather have a standard....its what I learned on...the same thing with baitcasting/Spinning...... it depends on what you learned on as to what method you prefer and feel most comfortable using.........

Topcat

rededison127

i recommend learning both spinning and baitcasting. use spinning gear for lighter baits and finesse baits. use baitcasters for everything else. you cannot beat the accuracy of a baitcasting reel.

cya!

Delta_24/7