TR186 Transducer(s)

Started by tablerocktriton, July 15, 2016, 11:56:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tablerocktriton

Let me say this now, i'm a Proud Newbie.... 

Boat has the 325c Lowrance 5" in the dash now... i just bought a Hook 5 to replace.   I don't want anything too fancy right off(structure scan etc..) just new maps and a basic sonar/scanner....

I noticed the factory Lowrance units don't have a transom mounted transducer... must me inside somewhere.... 

I am not too keen on drilling into the boat but I can, if it's the right thing to do.   I bought the hook 5 with a skimmer type transducer...  I don't run a jack plate.

Question 1, can i run the old transducer with the new unit?  If so, i understand dsi will not work, just curious.

Question 2.  Where in the sam Houston is the factory transducer? (granted, its dark and I haven't untarped the boat yet)...

Question 3.  Can the skimmer transducer be epoxy mounted? , if no...Question 4

Question 4... where do I mount the thing... down by the mesh cap and drain or fabricate something?

Question 5...  Are all fish finder websites so damn vague?  I'm a systems engineer and can follow directions...but why is it so hard to find good credible information?

Question 6... Do i need a different transducer to thru-hull mount? 

Quesiton 7?  Am i over thinking this ?

Question 8?  Should i drink another budwesier?

THANKS EVERYONE.... 

I"m going to start with the trolling motor replacement first, cause well thats pretty damn self explanatory.!

Princeton_Man

Only a guess here but it's probably epoxied in the bottom of the hull. Check the bilge area closely with a bright light. It may be a puck style transducer. -Jim
Stratos 285 XL Pro 150 Evinrude ETEC

Dobyns Rods - LSCR Club

tablerocktriton

I did find it... like you said.. so far I seem to loose down scan.  Thank you.

31airborne

1.  Not really.  You may get some functionality but it will be limited.